Post Format

A Consumer’s Insight

1 comment

A quick glimpse into what I presume is a typical process in the product purchase process.  This just occurred, care of yours truly.  I didn’t even realize it until I had finished and then I retraced my steps to learn a thing or two.  Background: I’ve been a BlackBerry user for several years now, believing it was the only choice for a marketer who is constantly on the road and at the mercy of his clients’ real-time demands.  Things have changed and smart phones have evolved mightily in the past half decade, so I committed to considering an alternative, possibly.  And that’s where we join our hero….

  1. I knew I didn’t want the iPhone, mostly because of the service issues I had heard so much about (WOM).  Owning a phone that actually operates successfully as a calling device is kinda important to me.
  2. Knowing I didn’t want to leave Verizon, the Droid Incredible popped into my mind as a seemingly plausible option.  Why?  Well, I can recall my friend telling me about how great the phone is at a recent party (WOM).  I also believe Chris Brogan recently mentioned the Droid in a tweet (WOM).
  3. I have zero experience with the Droid, so my first step was to go online for reviews (WOM).  After reading about the phone on Engadget (WOM – chosen because I have heard about the site as a trusted resource), I felt the urge for a more dynamic look into the product.
  4. I headed over to YouTube and punched in “Droid Incredible”.  One of the first hits was a video by CNET, pitting the phone against the iPhone in a tech-battle (WOM – chose CNET for same reason as Engadget).  Watched the video and felt very confident about their ratings scale, reasoning and outcome (WOM).
  5. I then hopped over to the Verizon website to evaluate pricing options (shocker – not due for an upgrade for another 16 months!).  While there I perused a few reviews (WOM), but didn’t put much stock into them simply because they were accessible through the actual Verizon site – the company pitching the product to me (WOM).
  6. After all that, I was feeling pretty good about the phone.  But, something was just…missing.  That’s when I did what most of us do in these situations – called my aforementioned friend who owns the phone (WOM)

That last step is a big one.  Even after conducting what I consider to be in-depth online research via sources that are perceived to be highly reliable industry experts, I still had “a feeling” that I needed more.  And out of all the options I had to fill that void (and there are plenty), I referred to a good ol friend.  Hell, I made it easy for him!  I basically begged him to pitch me on the phone and validate my positive feelings about it, which he did.

Next time you’re considering a WOM tactic, put yourself in the customer’s shoes and walk through the purchase process step-by-step, envisioning where WOM currently resides and how you can make that presence stronger and easily accessible.

 

Posted by

Growth obsessed startup co-founder (MusicBox) and strategist-for-hire. startupgrowthguy.com mymusicbox.me

1 Comment so far Join the Conversation

  1. Pingback: Online Reviews vs. (?) Traditional Word Of Mouth | Welcome To Our Blog

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

