Post Format

My Three Words For 2012

Leave a Reply

New Year’s resolutions are not something I’ve looked upon fondly. Usually shallow and almost always short-lived, I’m typically of the mindset that progress and change shouldn’t come a set point in the calendar, and certainly not only once a year. However, I’m intrigued by Chris Brogan’s “my 3 words” approach and decided to jump on that bandwagon.

Here are my three words and what they mean to me:

1) FOCUS. I am clearly a victim of high aspirations, strong work ethic, limited attention span and a general view that “I can get everything done in one hard push”. The downfall of this is that I allow my work to dictate where my attention goes when it should be the other way around. Immediately I plan on instituting completely revamped work habits designed to improve my efficiency and my overall output. I will experiment and tinker with the pomodoro technique, as I’ve had a lot of success with it in the past. It’s about working smarter, not harder. Another vital element to this goal is to be much better at managing my task lists, which leads me to my next goal…

2) DO. I am a master of task lists. Written checklists, post-it notes, phone apps – I’ve got em all. Sometimes I wonder if I devote more energy to organizing my to-do’s than actually doing them, a common problem amongst multi-taskers. I’m also a hardcore reader and studier, which often leads me to a state of paralysis by analysis. I tend to prepare too much, sacrificing execution for ideation. This relationship needs to become more balanced. I truly believe that once I move more from planning to doing, I’ll see an increase in my productivity, energy and focus.

3) SWAG. I wouldn’t be where I am today if I didn’t have the exact amount of confidence on which I’ve always relied. It’s very important to me. I’m an instinct guy, and good instinctual decision making only works when its grounded in confidence. That confidence comes from a combination of experience (trust in doing), wins and valuable losses (playing the game consistently) and health (physical). I’m already a pretty physically healthy guy, but what I need to do is turn my healthy living tasks into an ongoing lifestyle. I have all the resources (training partners, gyms, time) and knowledge (nutritional know-how, menu planning ability) to be consistently healthy, I just need the consistency most of us long for. I’ve learned that when I am in peak physical condition, EVERYTHING in my life is monumentally better and my confidence is at its ideal point (assuming all other facets of my life are in order).

Posted by

Growth obsessed startup co-founder (MusicBox) and strategist-for-hire. startupgrowthguy.com mymusicbox.me

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

