Post Format

The Time Simon Sinek Cost Me A New Client

Leave a Reply

I do a bit of freelance work, mostly online, and recently had the chance to offer a proposal for a marketing and branding strategy project. In my initial introductory proposal, I provided basic background on myself and my overall philosophy when working with clients. As part of that, I shared one of my all-time favorite TED speeches, given by Simon Sinek. It’s absolutely mesmerizing in its simplicity and powerful message. I highly recommend you take the time to watch it (below, in its entirety).

What happened next was exciting, inspiring and, well, disappointing. I received this communication from the client:

Dave, we really appreciate your proposal and are impressed with your body of work. We also watched the entire video and realized we haven’t yet truly figured out the WHY of our organization!!! And that is way too important to skip over, so we’re huddling up and discussing this before we do anything else!!!

The project closed and that was that. Yes, I’ve kept in touch with them and hope to help with their journey. But never did I think losing a client could be so satisfying. That’s just how important his speech and approach is.

 

Posted by

Growth obsessed startup co-founder (MusicBox) and strategist-for-hire. startupgrowthguy.com mymusicbox.me

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

