Post Format

Powered By Social

23 comments

We are all for an emerging trend of experiential marketing that blends the digital world with the physical. That’s what we labeled O2O(2O) in Social Sucks – online to offline (then back to online again for bonus points) and it has high impact. One of the leading examples involves the concept of an activity being powered by behavior on social sites like Twitter and Facebook, in which a consumer tweets or posts (action) and a prize or product sample is provided (reaction). Here are a few case studies to bring to life this unique approach to in-the-flesh engagement:

Estonian Air: Perhaps the first-ever social media loyalty program rewards customers for online brand promotion

Virtual Food Truck: To promote National Oatmeal Day, Quaker Oats built both a real-life and a virtual food truck spooning out product giveaways

Cheaper With A Tweet: Shoe brand offers to lower product prices as more – and more “influential” – tweets pour in (Domino’s did something similar)

Mini’s Car Drop: With a real-life installation, Mini presented Facebook fans the opportunity to win a new car by literally firing up a flame that released the vehicle

Toyota’s Tweet for a Sweet: Exactly what it sounds like, built in an unused storefront

Free Beer!: Simple and effective, a beer brand gives product away to private parties when messaged via Facebook

Shoes For Pics: ALDO gave away free pairs of shoes for sharing Instagram pics

Twitter Powered Billboard: Shirt brand automatically distributes free shirts for tweets

Customized Pinterest Gifts: Kotex studied the pins of 50 women, created special gifts based on their interests, and sent them out once the creations were pinned

Posted by

Growth obsessed startup co-founder (MusicBox) and strategist-for-hire. startupgrowthguy.com mymusicbox.me

23 Comments Join the Conversation

  1. It’s perfect time to make some plans for the longer term and it’s time to be happy.
    I’ve read this post and if I could I want to suggest you few interesting things or suggestions. Maybe you could write subsequent articles relating to this article. I wish to read more issues about it!

    Reply

    • Appreciate the feedback, Chad. I’m always looking to build on my more popular blog topics, so I will absolutely take this into consideration. Thanks again!

      Dave

      Reply

  2. We’re a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community. Your website offered us with valuable information to work on. You’ve done an impressive job and
    our entire community will be thankful to you.

    Reply

    • That’s wonderful to hear – so glad I can offer some value to your team. Feel free to contact me any time if you need some ideas or just a brainstorming partner. dave@mydisruption.com

      Thanks,
      Dave

      Reply

  3. Hmm is anyone else encountering problems with the images on this blog loading?
    I’m trying to determine if its a problem on my end or if it’s the
    blog. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

    Reply

  4. Hey hot and cold – sorry to hear you’re having difficulties with the images. Is it the main image within each (most) blog post, or the images on the side bar under “Photos”?

    I’ll do some testing shortly to make sure all is well on our end. Appreciate the heads-up.

    Dave

    Reply

  5. Heya! I realize this is kind of off-topic but I had to ask.
    Does building a well-established website like yours take a large
    amount of work? I’m completely new to writing a blog however I do write in my diary everyday. I’d like to start a blog so I will
    be able to share my experience and views online.
    Please let me know if you have any kind of suggestions or tips for brand new aspiring blog owners.
    Thankyou!

    Reply

    • Hi There – a site like mine is pretty easy to set-up. WordPress.com offers a ton of templates you can choose from that are already built and look pretty. Then you can add/remove some information (called “widgets”) to make it your own. Very easy, not too time consuming. I’ve had several WordPress blogs and have used many different templates – at the end of the day, the design is never as important as the actual content. I always suggest people put most of their attention on writing the best material they can…and having fun while doing it.

      Good luck!

      Dave

      Reply

  6. Hello, Neat post. There’s a problem along with your web site in internet explorer, would test this? IE nonetheless is the marketplace leader and a huge part of other people will omit your magnificent writing due to this problem.

    Reply

    • Hi – thank you for the heads up and the positive feedback. Can you specify what the problem is that you’re encountering? I’m not seeing any issues in IE, but want to test for it.

      Thanks again,
      Dave

      Reply

  7. I got this web page from my pal who informed me on the topic
    of this website and now this time I am visiting this site and reading very informative content at this time.

    Reply

  8. I’m impressed, I have to admit. Rarely do I come across a blog that’s
    both equally educative and amusing, and let
    me tell you, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The problem is something not enough men and women are speaking intelligently about. I’m very happy I came across this in my search for something concerning this.

    Reply

  9. Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you
    writing this post and also the rest of the website is really
    good.

    Reply

  10. Your write-up provides verified beneficial to me. It’s extremely helpful and you’re obviously really experienced in this area. You have exposed my personal face for you to different opinion of this specific topic together with intriguing and sound content material.

    Reply

  11. Excellent web site. Plenty of useful info here.
    I’m sending it to a few buddies ans also sharing in delicious. And of course, thanks to your effort!

    Reply

  12. Your style is unique in comparison to other people I’ve read stuff from. Thank you for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I will just bookmark this web site.

    Reply

  13. Your current report features verified necessary to me personally.

    It’s extremely educational and you’re simply naturally extremely educated of this type. You get exposed my personal sight in order to different views on this subject with intriguing and reliable content material.

    Reply

  14. Wow, that’s what I was looking for, what a stuff! existing here at this blog, thanks admin of this website.

    Reply

  15. We absolutely love your blog and find a lot of your post’s to be just what I’m looking for.
    can you offer guest writers to write content to suit your needs?

    I wouldn’t mind creating a post or elaborating on many of the subjects you write concerning here. Again, awesome web log!

    Reply

  16. Hi! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and say I really enjoy
    reading your articles. Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that go over
    the same topics? Thank you!

    Reply

  17. I like the valuable info you provide in your
    articles. I will bookmark your blog and check once more here frequently.
    I’m relatively sure I will be informed lots of new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

