Post Format

Great Customer Service Is In The Response, Not The Answer

Leave a Reply

bad-customer-serviceA couple months ago I heard about Weebly, a do-it-yourself website service built on a set of design templates. I had previously used Virb, whom I had great experiences with, but I was in search of a very specific  template that Weebly ended up having. So far, I’ve had nothing to complain about with Weebly – my site looks great (masterful marketing plug!) and has been pretty easy to edit in a moment’s notice.

Until last week, that is. Out of nowhere, the copy on my homepage was pushed down below the image (it had always been directly in line to the right of it), as if the margins suddenly changed without notice. Fri morning at 7:30am I filled out a help ticket via Weebly’s website and waited. I then tweeted the brand on Saturday and again on Monday, as well as sent two more follow-up email requests. Silence.

Finally, Tuesday at 1pm I received an email reply. It was too late, as by then I had figured out the problem and reluctantly changed my website copy to fit the (apparently) new margins. I never got a full explanation as to why the change. After voicing my concerns in their lack of response, a customer service agent apologized and explained that they’ve grown quickly and are simply playing catch-up, and that it won’t happen again.

Here’s why I’m telling this story, because it’s certainly not to slam Weebly (I remain with the service). I explained to the customer service rep that I understand the growing pains of a small business dealing with an onslaught of demand. The key here is that I would have been perfectly satisfied with a simple, less-than-140-characters response over the weekend saying they are working on it. That’s it. I’m sure someone over there believes you shouldn’t respond to a customer until you have an answer to their problem, but the act of ignoring me is what hurt them. A Twitter response would have taken maybe 30 seconds of someone’s time – well worth it and hardly taxing on staffing costs.

Posted by

Growth obsessed startup co-founder (MusicBox) and strategist-for-hire. startupgrowthguy.com mymusicbox.me

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

